"Bridge of Spies"--a Cartoon

I started to watch Speilburg's "Bridge of Spies" today. I stopped after a while because I felt that I was was watching an animated comic book, albeit by a very skillful artist. I admired the opening with its focus on eyes, eyeglasses, images. etc. I was aware of deft directing and fine acting. But the plot and its analogy lost me for good. The average American is supposed to have feared Communist spies as much as and in the same way as a Clansman would an interracial couple moving in next door. The film rightly asserts that politically and morally (in the sense of the mores of the polis) the Constitution is paramount, and then pretends that no one, not even a judge, knows that or cares. The tension between law and need is real enough, but the depiction here is too stark.