I Believe I'll Go Back Home in several genres

chorus: I believe I'll go back home (3 times)

An' acknowledge I done wrong.


When I was in my father's house,

I was well-supplied;

I made a mistake in doin' well,

An' now I'm dissatisfied.

 

When I was in my father's house,

I had peace all the time;

But when I left home an' went astray,

I had to feed the swine.

 

When the prodigal son first left home,

He was feelin' happy an' gay;

But he soon found out a riotous life

Was more than he could pay.

 

When I was in my father's house,

I had bread enough to spare;

But now I am naked an' hungry, too,

An' I am ashamed to go back there.

 

When I left home I was in royal robes,

An' sumptuously fed;

But I soon got ragged an' hungry, too,

An' come back home so sad.

 

When I get home I'll confess my sins,

And father's love embrace;

I'm no more worthy to be called thy son,

I'll seek a servant's place.

 

When his father saw him comin',

He met him with a smile;

He threw his arms around him

"Here comes my lovin' child!"

 

He spake unto his servants-

"Go kill the fatted calf;

An' call my friends an' neighbors,

My son has come at last."

 

His older son got jealous

An' he began to say:

"You did more for my brother,

Who left an' went away."

 

He spake unto his elder son-

It was with an humble mind-

"Son, you have always been with me,

An' all I have is thine."

 

They met together rejoicing,

I imagine it was fine;

The old man he got happy,

An' he was satisfied in mind.

 

Words and music in Grissom, M. A., 1930, The Negro Sings, New Heaven, p. 36-36.

Listed as a spiritual in the Cleveland Index. This song is apparently the source for Dock Bogg's "Prodigal Son." …Grissom states "This is an excellent version of the many Negro songs about the Prodigal Son."

 

Here are the Davis Sisters from Philadelphia. This is gospel music.

 

Here is a version by Jack Kelly and His South Memphis Jug Band. This is the blues

 

And the great bluesman John Lee Hooker. Notice how the father is now "my baby" and we get the classic "Baby, take me back" theme of the blues.

 

 Here is the Reverend Rickey Jackson during a worship service. This is literally a capella (as in a chapel, that is to say, without instruments).

 

Here is a version by Borrowed Time. Note the audience reaction to the solo.

Here is the song with two great divas of opera: Kathleen Battles and Jessye Norman.  James Levine is the conductor.

 

Here us a version by Gregg Allman